Home > Uncategorized > Thanks for the Mammories

Thanks for the Mammories

JoshC’s post about scientists shooting rockets at lightning storms, to what I understand was the scientists obvious battle challenge to Zeus: God of Lightning, reminded me of a PBS special on genetics and spider webs.

Ya see, spider web is one of the strongest material in the natural world. So these Canadian scientists saw themselves fit to splice together goat DNA with Spider silk protein to create goats that lactate webbing.

Picture stolen from the internet.

The idea was to farm webbing much like silk worms are used for silk, by using goats instead of those bad-ass loner spiders. Webbing is so strong, that it was considered for use in body armor (a scientific advancement used on the battlefield? Say it ain’t so!) But, the main ingredient for making complex, strong webbing are a spider’s spinnerets. Or as I like to call them ‘spider ass-fingers’.

So the plan was shelved…as far as we know at least.

I remember talking about this since 2000 until I looked it up on wikipedia about year ago and found out that web armor was never gonna happen, I was fucking crushed. I mean, personally, i can’t stand walking through spider webs and getting that shit on me, I actually have a bit arachnophobia. But come on, Web Armor? Fucking sign me up!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. June 15, 2008 at 4:45 am

    Please, please tell me you made that Goat-spider-man picture.
    I’m printing it off and hanging it on the front of my house so my neighbors know not to mess with me,

  2. flabslapper
    June 15, 2008 at 4:49 am

    HA! No JoshC, i wish I were that talented, there was supposed to be a comment saying ‘stolen from the internet’, I’m still trying to figure out the many wonders of wordpress

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

