Home > Uncategorized > Dirty Little Secret

Dirty Little Secret

Let’s talk about guilty pleasures. If you’re Catholic, like myself, your guilty pleasure is undoubtedly masturbation. But since I’ve done that five times between waking up Friday morning and now, I’m too tired to even think about masturbation. Instead (that is, if you’re still reading this) I want to talk about another guilty pleasure of mine: Now I first found about Fruits Basket after a friend from high school suggested I watch the anime. Now at that time the only anime I had seen included Dragon Ball Z, Pokemon, the Fighting Foodons, and basically stuff that was just too adult for me to understand, like Akira, or basic crap like Sailor Moon, which I still watched religiously because, hey, as Matt from X-Entertainment can attest to, Sailor Mercury is pretty hot.

66.html

Anyway in other words I was very new to this concept of Japanese Animation Animu. So my friend and I get to talking about anime and he suggests I watch Fruits Basket, I look at him and say “Fruits. Fruits Basket. Fruits?” And he says for me to trust him. So I watch the first episode with him and several of his friends that are over, and I’m joking around about it, talking shit about it and such. But unknown to me something was awakening inside of me that I could not describe.

Anyway, I tell him I’ll give it a shot and he lets me borrow it. I watched every goddamn 26 episodes in like two days. “There’s just something about this show man!” I say to myself. I laughed, I cried, I laughed again, I cried way too much. The characters are easy to relate too. Its just a perfect show. So I notice the last disk had a audio track of the voice actors talking about the show. So I’m watching it and the actors are talking about how they were happy to make an anime that wasn’t guys fighting or giant robots, then they said something that shocked me. They were finally happy to make an anime aimed towards girls for a change. Which made me have flash backs of the show.

Girls. Aimed towards girls. I’m not a girl! But I loved this show. My God! What the hell! So I look up this anime and see how its classified. Its classified as ‘Shojo’, Shojo being a term used in English to refer to anime or manga aimed at a female audience between the ages of 10 and 18. Now I was 18 at the time, sure, but as hard I wished it to be true I was not a girl! So for like five minutes I figured I was gay, and then I reminded myself of Pixie from Monster Rancher:

and realized that I’m not gay, just a straight pervert.

also Daria

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. July 6, 2008 at 4:37 am

    I really should check this out, I trust your opinion.

    Though I disagree with your classification(pervert), I refer to myself as “a sexual deviant”.
    See, doesn’t that just roll off the ol’ Tongue??

  2. flabslapper
    July 6, 2008 at 12:36 pm

    it does!

  3. July 7, 2008 at 11:12 pm

    hey.. i’m right with you, bro! – Fruits Basket is actually my favorite anime.. – Tohru is an amazing lead character and a true inspiration.. – Azumanga Daioh is my second fave, so if you like FB and haven’t seen it yet, you’d probably really dig it!

  4. flabslapper
    July 8, 2008 at 2:04 am

    oh ya Azumanga Daioh, I’ve only watched the first few episodes, but i thought it was pretty good, I’ll get around to it eventually!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

