Home > Uncategorized > Hetalia: Axis Powers is the Best Show Ever

Hetalia: Axis Powers is the Best Show Ever

The other day I was telling my friend how I love anthropomorphism. Allow me to show you a few examples.

Knuckles the Echidna

Glasses

Pikachu

Wii remote and Nunchuk

A motherfuckin Tank

So my friend tells me about a show called Hetalia: Axis Powers, where the characters in the show represent the countries involved in WWII.

If you know anything about WWII and find racial stereotypes hilarious, than you must watch this show!

Now the show is set up as fangirl bait (making the male characters ‘beautiful’), but don’t let that deter you from watching, the show is seriously educational, and the Countries are represented in a humorous, albeit somewhat racially insensitive, way.

I really must warn you that if you are indeed easily offended then don’t watch this show. The Japanese have no sense of racial insensitivity. Nor do they have any sensitivity towards anything!

In a later episode England calls France a ‘fag’. No matter how many times South Park says fag, doesn’t really make the word ‘ok’ to use. But hey, that’s Japan for you, and in the context of the show it was funny as hell.

Take America for example, he’s loud, cocky, always wants to be the hero, and eats nothing but hamburgers. I’d say that’s pretty fair, right?

The show is entirely subbed, and sometimes there is a huge amount of text on the screen when they pause to learn you something, but otherwise the episodes are only 5 minutes each, so watching a few episodes won’t take up too much of your time.

Here’s the first episode

The show is ongoing too, so I don’t know how many episodes there will be ultimately, and the show was originally a webcomic, then a manga, so if you can read Japanese, than by all means, seek those out too.

I guess I’ll count this as an Anime Bad-Ass entry, since it’s technically about anime characters in WWII.

Coincidentally, or not, Barnes & Nobel has WWII magazines stocked right next to the end-cap for the manga, but I guess that makes sense. I am in the demographic of my WWII interests overlapping into anime and manga?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

